Fabric and denim flower tutorial

A couple of birthdays ago, my friend gave me a lovely bag which has this tweedy flower charm on it. She always said she thought it was something I would make myself, and I have finally got round to it. tweed fabric flowerIt took a bit of poking around the work out the design, and I ended up doing something slightly different, as I found it was a bit bulky otherwise. My version is below – made from denim and cotton fabric, and accessorised with a button (of course!) The denim came from a favourite old pair of jeans which had ripped because they were so worn. I chopped off the legs, so may still use them for something else.completed fabric and denim flowerIngredients

  • Cotton fabric
  • Denim fabric (tweed which doesn’t fray too much would also work well)
  • Circle template
  • Cotton and needle
  • 6 inches of denim seam offcut or sturdy twill ribbon
  • Keyring
  • Button

Recipe

  1. Using your circular template, cut out 5 denim circles and 4 fabric circles. The 5th denim circle is the back.fabric flower circle template
  2. Match each denim circle with a fabric one, with right sides facing outwards.
  3. Start folding your petals! Fold the circle in half and then in half again, as shown below. Do this until you have 4 petals.how to fold fabric flowerhow to fold fabric flower 2
  4. For the keyring hanger, I used cut off from the leg seam of a pair of jeans, but some sturdy twill ribbon would work just as well. Sew it firmly in place into the centre of the spare denim circle. sewing the back onto fabric flower
  5. Next, arrange your petals onto the backing circle, as shown below. Sew each point firmly firmly into place, and if needed, make strategic stitches elsewhere to get the petals to sit straight. arranging fabric flower
  6. The final step is to sew a button in the centre of the petals. Again, make sure it is sewn securely.

Although I made this as a keyring for my garage keys, it also looks nice as a bag charm (especially if you match your fabrics well). denim and cotton fabric flower

 

8 thoughts on “Fabric and denim flower tutorial

Let me know your thoughts!