A round up of really easy beginner sewing projects

I’m by no means an accomplished sewist, but I am definitely getting more confident. I thought it may be useful to put together a list of projects suitable for very new seamstresses, looking to start their sewing journey.

A great first beginner project is bunting. There is really no end to what style you can do it in, as there are so many combinations of fabric and methods out there to chose from, but basically it is just lots of nice straight lines you need to sew.finished bunting flagsThe method I use to make bunting I got from Sew in Brighton, which I’ve summarised in this post. If you’re looking to get going with sewing, I can recommend booking into a sewing class. They’re a great way to learn the basics away from any distractions. There are classes springing up everywhere, so it is best google away to find one near to you.

I am terrified of zips, and this project changed my mind about them. I used this excellent tutorial from Rachel at Transient Expression to make this Russian doll patterned purse which I use as a make-up bag/pencil case.

Russian doll pencil caseTote bags are really simple and also really useful. I have this book – S.E.W. Sew Everything Workshop which has really clear instructions for all sorts of projects, including a tote bag and a more structured handbag style bag which I made as a present a couple of years ago. There are also TONNES of ideas and tutorials on Pinterest!

I also came up with this tutorial which shows how to make a tote bag with a little pocket inside for you to stuff it up really small and bung it in your handbag. It took a couple of attempts to work out the engineering behind it!finished retro tote bagWhile I have made a pair of self drafted PJ bottoms, my plans for this year include making a dress. I have a couple of patterns and fabric all lined up – I just need some time to sit down and do it really. No more excuses!

3 thoughts on “A round up of really easy beginner sewing projects

Let me know your thoughts!

