Crocheting with double strand wool

I have been trying out crocheting with two different wools at the same time. It came about because I started crocheting using some very fine purple wool on its own, and it was taking far too long. So I combined it with some turquoise wool of a similar thickness I had left. The result is a nice, chunky, jewel coloured effect, which works up much more quickly! It is quite yarn-hungry though. I’m using UK treble crochet and I’m planning to make a cowl. double strand crochetTalking of cowls, how do you like this one I knitted the other week? It was just a rectangle, but I twisted it once at the front before I sewed it shut. This makes it sit a bit nicer around the neck. It also makes rather a nifty turban style earwarmer. knit cowlTo finish up, my sister sent me this picture yesterday, so true in my book!
crafting comes before housework

Let me know your thoughts!