Messy scrap patchwork

I don’t think this is what this method is called, but that’s my name for it! I got given a big bag of fabric from a friend of a friend, and it included some pre-cut squares and other little bits of quilting fabric. There is also some other lovely dress fabric which will be the subject of another post… Anyway, I’ve been using the pre-cut pieces and bits from my special tiny scrap draw (I literally don”t throw anything out) to make these patches. They are surprisingly therapeutic and look quite nice all lined up.nessy scrap patchesI suppose my patches are a variation of log cabin quilts, but not as tidy! With most of the patches I’ve done so far, I started with two triangles, and then worked around the square using rectangles to bring the patch to the right size. Being quite untidy and lazy, I trimmed off any excess where the patches were not quite the right size.

messy square patches laid outMy plan is to use them to make a cushion cover for a friend – I’m going to use either some plain linen or pale pink tweed I have in my stash to break up the pattern and to make the backing.

I also want to show you these super-cute fabric buttons my friend gave me for my birthday. Obviously, my button addiction is becoming (in)famous!
fabric covered buttons

3 thoughts on “Messy scrap patchwork

  1. I love log cabin quilts, there is something just so comforting and cosy about them! You have some gorgeous fabrics there so good luck with your project! those buttons are also fab, I love the blue print ones.

    Gemma xx

    • I’m not neat enough to do a proper log cabin patch – maybe I’ll work towards it! After some false starts, I’ve made a nice squishy cushion with my patches, so will be posting more soon 🙂 I still have some fabric left though, so I’m thinking about making something else too. I LOVE my new buttons, just need a nice project for them x

Let me know your thoughts!

