Hexagonal paper flower tutorial

I was after a quick and effective idea to make a birthday card, so I did lots of hunting around for some inspiration.  I really wanted an idea for a nice flat paper flower, but this seems surprisingly hard to find.  In the end, I found this great tutorial on how to make fabric hexagonal yo yos, and decided to try it with paper.  It worked really well, although I will say a thicker, better quality paper made it so much easier and gave a nice finish.  I used two different sized hexagonal flowers to decorate my card – one on top of the other, finished off with a sequin.

card with hexagonal paper flowers

I’ve put together a little tutorial on how to make them, and combined with the fabric tutorial, hopefully it should all make sense!  As usual, if there are any problems, please let me know and I’ll do my best to help.

Ingredients

  • Patterned paper (a bit thicker is easier to work with)
  • Circle template (I used a glass)

Instructions

1. Cut out a circle from paper – any size will do but the smaller the more fiddly it gets (about 8cm across is a good size).

step 1 paper flower2. Fold in half and then into quarters. step 3 paper flower tutorial3. Unfold the circle, and mark the centre (this makes the next few folds so much easier). step 5 paper flower tutorial4. Fold one edge into the centre mark. step 6 paper flower tutorial5. Fold the left hand corner into the centre. step 7 paper flower tutorial6. Repeat stage 5 twice more, until it looks like the example below. step 9 paper flower tutorial7. Fold the left hand corner into the middle to make a point.step 10 paper flower tutorial8. Unfold the point, and put the left hand edge on top of the right hand edge, as shown below.step 11step 129. After stage 8, you will be left with a little flappy bit.step 1410. This bit is really hard to explain, but you need to flip the flap under the triangle to the left of the last triangle which you made.  I had to try this stage out a few times before I got it right, so please let me know if you get stuck.  step 1511. Tuck the flap in, and make sure all your triangle seams line up centrally. finished hexagonal paper flower

Let me know your thoughts!

