Lottie blouse pattern from Simple Sew

The June Love Sewing Magazine had a free pattern for a pencil skirt and pussy bow blouse. So far I have made the blouse – I may make the skirt too at some stage, but I have a love/hate relationship with pencil skirts unless they are stretchy enough to move in!

So this is the top almost finished, with just the armholes and hem to do. You can either make the pattern with 3/4 sleeves or with none, and I am definitely a no sleeve person. simple sew lottie blouseI had some issues with the pattern, particularly around bias tape around the neck and armholes. There were no instructions on how to add the bias tape to the armholes, which I am psyching myself up for, but I found some great tutorials online. My neck tie was also a bit made up, I think I sewed on the tie wrong, so I ended up sewing a couple of stitches in strategic places to keep it sitting correctly. Otherwise, it was surprisingly easy and actually looks nice and like something I would wear normally. I am loving the fact that I have now graduated to making actual, functional items!

Issue 2 (with this pattern) is still on sale in shops, so hurry up and get it before next issue comes out 🙂

Let me know your thoughts!

