Mini quilt work in progress

I felt inspired the other day to just go mad with fabric and see what happened.  I vaguely had the idea of making a mini quilt as a present, and picked out some fabrics which looked nice together.  patchwork quilt pink

When I had cut them out, I noticed that there were some bits where the fabric was slightly too short, so I patched in some stripes to get the right width.  Now, I am not very good with straight lines and tidiness, so the end result is “deliberately” shabby chic.  I also seem to have swapped the order of the squares around too!spots and flowers patchwork quilt

Once I had done the one side, I was thinking how best to do the back with my random selection of not-quite-big-enough bits of fabric.  So I decided to do another scrappy patchwork quilt. flowers and spots patchwork quilt

This one has a few more stripes in it, as the pieces of fabric got smaller!  As for how to quilt it, I’ve been hand quilting circles.  When it is all finished, I will post more pictures, but I’ve put one on my twitter page already (which got retweeted by @LoveSewingMag)!

I’m quite excited to see how it all turns out.

One thought on “Mini quilt work in progress

Let me know your thoughts!

