Fabric Russian dolls

The other day I picked up a copy of a brand new magazine called Love Sewing.  It was the first issue, and I will definitely be getting again, as without fail pretty much everything in there is either useful and/or beautiful.  There is a rather nice pattern for a simple shift dress, which is begging to be made…  Incidentally, Very Berry Handmade has also been inventing some lovely Liberty themed projects which were in the freebie magazine which came with it.  Got to love Liberty’s beautiful fabrics.

Anyway, the first project I tackled was the fabric Russian doll trio, which was in the freebie Liberty magazine. Russian doll magazine spread - Edited

Instead of scraps, I used a set of three fat quarters which I got from Stampin Up a while ago.  I have been saving them for something special, as the fabric is so lovely, especially the middle one, which has cameos on it.

fabric russian dolls

Each doll has a different pattern on the back, to make them a bit more exciting, and I used white felt for the faces.  I have been wanting to make some fabric Russian dolls for ages, to go on our new bookshelf, but I couldn’t find the right pattern.  This pattern was so simple, and there is so much scope to decorate them up in different ways.  I’m tempted to make another set sometime soon!

One thought on “Fabric Russian dolls

Let me know your thoughts!

