Good golly Miss Mollie

On the weekend I had a go at making a Mollie doll from issue 14 of Mollie Makes.  It was a great scrap-buster, making good use of an old pillowcase, scrap patterned fabric and my massive felt collection (no idea how I have accumulated so much felt!)cut out dollI am really pleased with the result, and have another 4 in the pipeline already (both as presents and orders). doll

The pattern calls for the face features to be made with felt scraps, but I always come unstuck with cutting out and placing a matching pair of eyes.  So I did a quick hunt on Pinterest and found a great link with doll facial feature ideas.  I will definitely be referring to that again in the future.  I just drew the details on in pencil and then embroidered on. close up of doll

I think I will be keeping her, as she is not quite perfect.  I had issues getting her legs in place, so will need to make some tweaks next time.  I think I should probably be not so hard on myself, as it is only me who notices the fact her skirt hem is a bit squiff!

 

5 thoughts on “Good golly Miss Mollie

Let me know your thoughts!

