Spotlight on Milana Felt Designs

Today’s spotlight is on Milana – the most amazing felted goodies I’ve seen!  I can’t begin to imagine how long it takes to create something like Elsa’s stole (2nd picture down), but it really is a piece of art.

What is your name, how long have you been crafting and what is your main craft?

Hi. My name is Elsa and I’m a woolaholic. I’ve been a felter for 5 years now.  I’m originally from Mallorca but have been in the UK for many years.  Yes, my life in the UK is very different but one thing Cumbria, where I’m based now, has in common with my island home is not the weather, but sheep! felt pebble necklaceI’ve loved working with wool from a young age and always had a crochet project on the go until I discovered felting. The creative and tactile process of turning a heap of random fibres into such a beautiful, and functional material is something I feel everyone should experience.

What is your favourite item which you make and why do you like making it?

Because I enjoy variety in my making, I find working with felt the ideal medium.  My favourite use of felt is to create one-of-a-kind wearable pieces such as delicate wraps and funky stoles.  vintage style stoleI usually start with either a piece of fabric (for nuno felt) or a specific colour in mind and let that dictate the finished project.  Ideas evolve during the creating process and so it’s always exciting to see the finished results.

Do you have any tips for budding sellers / crafters?

It can be hard work being a maker.  You have to adapt and become many things including creative director, stock controller, administrator, web designer, marketing manager, photographer, copywriter, etc.  But two things I’ve learnt as a newbie are:-

1. Not to try and do too much too soon. It’s ok to build things up slowly and get things right rather than rushing in and regretting it.

2. Online shops, bricks and mortar shops and market stalls can create different business and creative opportunities. In time, they’re all definitely worth exploring. ladybird and pebble felted soaps

Good luck to all makers in their current and future ventures!

Where to find Elsa

Shop:    www.milana.folksy.com

Email:   milanafelt@gmail.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/milanadesigns

Let me know your thoughts!

