Spotlight on Leah Rose Designs

Today’s spotlight feature is on Nora of Leah Rose Designs, who makes lovely cushions, tote bags and other bits and bobs. 

leah rose designsI am Nora (Leah Rose Designs ) and I have been sewing, knitting and crocheting since I was about five which is more years then I care to think about!  My mother was a City and Guilds trained tailoress and had also trained as a dressmaker with a London couture house.  She taught me to sew and instilled in me a love for my craft which has remained with me all my life.  My father was an architect and through him I acquired my love of design. 

nora william morris cushion

I inherited from my mother a large collection of vintage fabrics and textiles which I have added to over the years.  I love everything  Arts and Crafts; William Morris’s intricate floral designs, Pugin’s architecture, William de Morgan beautiful tiles the list goes on and on.  I tend to collect a lot of sixties and seventies fabric as those sort of designs were so popular then.  I have a vast collection of mid-century fabric and some more modern prints.  The textile designs tend to inspire my finished products.  My favourite items tend to be cushions and bags made from my vintage fabrics.nora russian dollsWhere to find Leah Rose Designs

Alongside her folksy shop and facebook page, Nora also tries to attend a craft fair a month.  I personally love the little Russian Dolls above, I’m so tempted to get some!

If you are interested in taking part in the spotlight series, post a comment and I will be in touch.

Let me know your thoughts!