Crochet block of the day

In my quest to improve my crochet skills during 2014, I have decided that I am going to make a lot of crochet blocks to make 2 blankets as presents.  I am using a wonderful book for inspiration – 200 Crochet blocks for blankets, throws and afghans by Jan Eaton.  Each block is coded 1, 2 or 3 difficulty and whether it is worked in rounds or rows.

My first block is number 75 (half and half) only made out of one colour instead of two, and it is essentially just UK Treble stitch rows. half and half crochet blockSo far, I have made 3 and a bit of these blocks.  I want each blanket to be 4 blocks across by 6 or 8 long, and using a mix of blocks and colours, so by the end of 2 blankets I should be a pro!

Let me know your thoughts!

