Crochet Earwarmer

Happy 2014 everyone!  I am now back on home turf in Brighton and trying to get back into a routine again after a long Christmas break.  I had a lovely break, ran my first 5 mile race on boxing day and saw the Singin in the Rain musical in Cardiff.  Singin in the Rain is my favourite film ever, so I was super excited to go, and it did not disappoint.

I got back from Wales late on Saturday, and on my way back from Wales on the bus and train, I decided to have a go at making a crochet earwarmer for my mum.  I bought one for myself a couple of years ago, and my mum tried it on and liked it.  While waiting for the bus in Cardiff, we found some nice cheap chunky wool in Tiger and I got a crochet hook too.  The end result is below – not bad for my first attempt at crochet in a while and for a made up pattern! crochet earwarmer

It is just double crochet stitch all round, and joined up at the end.  I crocheted a small strip to cover the join and make it look a bit like a bow.

I’m also making a thicker one with some wool I got in a charity shop.  Instead of doing it as a whole round, I want to finish it off with a few buttons.  Once it’s done, I’ll post a picture and also so instructions for you.  Unfortunately, my poor wrist is suffering a bit so I am having to take it easy for a bit!

Let me know your thoughts!

