Pearl quilt – work in progress

This is going to be a bit of a half post, as I can’t post the final item as a) I haven’t finished it yet and b) in case it is SEEN by the people who it is for.  This quilt is a present so I don’t want to give too much away!

Anyway, this quilt was a bit of a last minute idea, but I’m well on course to finish on time.  The original inspiration came from these two ideas which I came across on Pinterest.  The first idea was this absolutely brilliant one for a bursting heart pillow.

bursting heart tutorial

The tutorial is really, really good, and the applique technique works really well, but I would use metal head pins as some of my plastic head ones melted!  The second idea was this Urban Outfitters quilt.  I really liked the big squares and the mix of retro and modern fabrics.

urban outfitters quilt

So with these ideas in mind, I started on my quilt.  Here is my fabric selection for the heart.

applique heart cut out

Fabric-wise, I’m using my lovely vintage sheet and a selection of spotty fabrics.  When I went to get wadding and backing fabric, I actually decided to get this thick blanket-y material instead.  It is a bit of a nightmare to sew and has molted a bit, but it looks and feels nice.

quilt back

That’s about as much as I can post for the minute, but the final item will be up soon….

Let me know your thoughts!

