Button jar

Inspired by a magazine (Simply Homemade) which I bought a couple of months ago, and my friends amazingly organised craft equipment, I decided to have a go at decorating some old jars and using them for storage.  The look really effective but were easy peasy to make – here are some basic instruction, but to be honest it is a case of letting your imagination run wild! pink button jar

Ingredients

  • Old jam jars or coffee jars, with labels and glue removed
  • Decorative paper
  • Ribbon
  • Luggage labels
  • Any other embellishments which take your fancy e.g. stickers, flowers, sequins
  • PVA glue and paint brush
  • Craft knife

Recipe

Go mad with the glue, and decorate your jars however you like!

I have a fancy gadget with lets you cut out perfect circles to any size, and I used this to make the lid covering, which was just glued into place.  I decorated my button jar with some small cardboard buttons which I got in a craft kit once, but other than that I just used different sized rectangles of paper to make the labels. small jars

For these 2 smaller jars, I just covered the lids with a paper circle and tied a ribbon with a luggage label around their necks.  I glued a small piece of matching paper to the back of the luggage label, and wrote what was in them on the blank side.

One thought on “Button jar

Let me know your thoughts!

