Dress Revamp

I got this 1970s dress from the charity shop for £3 at the end of last year.  While it is nice, it is a bit fancy dress on its own, and I wasn’t entirely sure what to do with it.  It is also see-through, so it definitely needs a slip underneath!  When I went to the library the other day, I got a book  called Recycled Chic which has some great ideas, including altering a long-sleeved dress to short sleeved.   blue dress before

To start with I unpicked both of the sleeves from my dress.  Once unpicked, I found out that the armholes didn’t really need any hemming, as the dress is made from the 1970s staple of polyester.  I trimmed some excess fabric off the armholes to shape it a bit more, and then on both sides I ruched a section together, as you can see in the picture below.  I also unpicked some of the v to make it a little bit deeper.

blue dress revampWith the left over arm material, I made some rosettes to cover the ruched sections.  blue rosetteThis is the final dress, complete with rosettes – all I need now is a slip to go underneath! finished blue dress

I like it much better now, and will be wearing it if and when it every gets sunny and warm here…

Let me know your thoughts!

