Recipe for Welsh Cakes

Welsh cakes are something my family obsess about.  When I was little, my sister and I used to make them with my gran, taking it in turns to do the rolling out and sitting on a stool to cook them on the stove.   At the start of each university term, I went with a huge box of welsh cakes which I shared with my friends, who then also got addicted to them.  My husband is obsessed with them, as are his work colleagues.  I have just started a new job and I’m planning to take this stash of welsh cakes into work on St Davids day to make a meeting more exciting.

I have never cooked welsh cakes on anything other than a cast iron bake stone.  A bake stone is essential in my humble opinion – it took a while for us to find something to work on our induction hob but we now have a small cast iron pan from IKEA and a big one my gran gave me.  I suppose at a push a normal frying pan could be used though.  So without further ado, here is the ultimate welsh cake recipe.

Ingredients

  • 8 oz self raising flour
  • 3 oz margarine
  • 3 oz caster sugar
  • 3 oz currants
  • 1/2 tea spoon mixed spice
  • 1 tablespoon golden syrup
  • 1 large egg or 2 small eggs (mix the egg and syrup in a jug or bowl)
  • bakestone on a low heat

Recipe

  1. Mix and combine all ingredients by kneading them together. welsh cake mix
  2. Flour a board and rolling pin, roll the mix out to about 1cm thickness and cut welsh cakes with a round cutter.
  3. Cook the welsh cakes until slightly browned and firm.  See the picture below to give you an idea of what they should look like. welsh cakes cooking
  4. Leave to cool, but you can eat them straight away with a cup of tea. welsh cakes

In the interest of fairness to my other (English) gran, I will also be posting a recipe for her Scotch shortbread, which is delicious and also a lifelong staple in our family.

5 thoughts on “Recipe for Welsh Cakes

  1. Michelle says:

    Ooh, I don’t think I’ve had Welsh Cakes before…must give this a go some time 🙂

    Thanks for sharing this at Cook, Craft, Create at The Purple Pumpkin Blog. Hope to see you again soon!

    Michelle xx

Let me know your thoughts!

