Singer Sewing Machine

I am so, so excited at the moment!  When my parents came down this weekend, they brought a sewing machine with them.  I have only just had chance to sit down, open up the case and see what it was like.  I don’t know what I was expecting but I got this hand crank Singer machine, which explains why it weighs a tonne if nothing else!  I remember using it when I was very little, beyond that I know very little about it. singer machine full view

I’ve just done a quick google of the serial number and found this page on the Singer website.  It seems that the machine was made in 1920. singer serial number

I have had a bit of a play with it and it seems to running smoothly.  I think I’m going to have to find a tutorial somewhere to get my head around how it all works again.  It is so beautiful though, and definitely built to last (note to my current machine which throws regular tantrums when I work it particularly hard)…

2 thoughts on “Singer Sewing Machine

  1. Mum says:

    Hi Jude. The machine was an Xmas pressie, reconditioned from a singer shop in Swansea. All the new machines at the time we decided were too technical for a youngster and potential for too much to go wrong… Really didn’t know it was that old tho. Enjoy!! Xxxx

Let me know your thoughts!

