Button Biscuits

I had the urge to bake today, and made these button shaped biscuits using a basic recipe and the stuff lurking in my cupboards.  We had a kitchen clear out on the weekend, and I found at least 5 half-used bags of sugar of various different colours.  I used a basic recipe from this months ASDA magazine (I’m a sucker for picking up free magazines, especially ones with recipes in them).

Ingredients

  • 115g butter (I used Stork as I always have some in the fridge)
  • 65g caster sugar (I used brown sugar as that was already open)
  • vanilla essence (a couple of glugs)
  • 150g plain flour
  • 25g cornflour

Recipe

Mix butter, sugar and vanilla essence until evenly mixed, then add sifted plain and corn flour.  Wrap in cling film and chill for about half an hour (I think mine was more like 15-20 minutes as I got bored!)

I then rolled my dough out between some cling film to stop it sticking to the rolling pin.

rolled dough

Using a normal round cutter, I cut out rounds and then added the button hole details using a round piping nozzle.

cutting button holes

They then go into a preheated oven for 10 minutes of 180 deg c.  As I only have one baking sheet they went in two batches.  Once cooked, they need to go on a wire rack to cool.

buttons cooling

Et voila, easy peasy and they look really nice.  They seem to taste better this evening now they have firmed up a bit and they are a good texture for dunking.  The plan was to dip them in melted chocolate but I forgot to buy some….  The basic recipe could be funked up a bit with some coco powder, ground ginger or other flavouring.

3 thoughts on “Button Biscuits

  1. Michelle says:

    I love a free mag at the supermarkets! I always pick them up when I go 😀 Morrisons do one online which is good since there isn’t one of those near me.

    Cute biscuits, thank you for coming over and sharing this at The Purple Pumpkin Blog Link Party! Hope to see you again next time!

    Michelle xx

Let me know your thoughts!

