My Quilt

Last year, I attempted my first quilt.  It is by no means perfect, but I think I can *just* about get away with it, because the prints used are quite big.

quilt

When I had my sewing machine for Christmas a few years ago, my sister gave me a bag of scraps from IKEA.  I have begged and pleaded since and they haven’t obliged again, so I don’t know what she said to them! 😦  Anyway, I used the largest of those scraps and got some more from various end bins.  The backing house print fabric was from IKEA, and I still have loads left over.  Another project I have used this print for is appliqué house cushions for a wedding present.

quilt back

The bird fabric I had anyway in my stash to decorate our spare room.

quilt closeup

There are loads of things I would do differently, like cut my squares out properly(!) but for my first attempt, I don’t think it is too bad – it brightens up our spare room anyway.

Let me know your thoughts!

