Button Christmas Decorations

Last year, I found this brilliant idea to make button Christmas decorations online.  I love buttons, so it was a no-brainer to make these.  I can’t remember where I got the idea from, and have had a look again and it seems to have vanished – so sorry I can’t credit the original source.  I think I found it through the Bonkers about Buttons facebook page, which is where I find most button-related joy.

button on my Christmas tree

Ingredients

  • Sheet of craft felt in your chosen colours
  • Stuffing (only a tiny amount is required, so at a push you could use cotton wool)
  • Embroidery floss
  • Paper template (This is a circle 6cm across, with 4 small holes in the centre, like a button)
  • Small piece of thin ribbon
  • Pins

How to make the decorations

  1. Trace your button template onto the felt and cut out, and repeat so you have 2 buttons.  The central circles can be a bit fiddly.
  2. Pin in the centre, leaving the edges loose so you can insert a tiny amount of stuffing.  Once you have done this, pin all the way around.
  3. Insert your ribbon loop and pin in place.
  4. Using the embroidery floss and a simple running stitch, sew all the way around the edge, making sure the ribbon is secure, and sew around each of the 4 small circles in the middle.
  5. Put on tree, or another option could be to make a garland of lovely buttons.

felt buttons

Let me know your thoughts!

